There are two NCERT Book For Class 9 English PDF prescribed by the CBSE curriculum:

  • Beehive
  • Moments

The Detailed syllabus of the book Beehive with a little summary of each chapter is as follows:

Chapter 1 – The Fun They Had:

The first chapter is a story by famous fiction author Asimov, which tells a tale of a future world where computers have appropriated conventional methods of teaching. Additionally, by solving exercises provided at the top of the newest NCERT books for Class 9 English, you’ll be ready to test your grammatical and comprehensive skills.

Chapter 2 – The Sound of Music:

The story is about two people: Evelyn Glennie and Bismillah Khan. Evelyn Glennie became deaf in her childhood and at the age of 16, she went to the Royal Academy to learn music; xylophone, drums, etc.

The story of Bismillah Khan is narrated in the chapter that he used to play shehnai and when India got independence, he played shehnai on that auspicious day.

Chapter 3 – The Little Girl:

This story is about a little girl who tries to maintain the generation gap but many times fails in this. She used to have nightmares. She just wanted her father’s affection which he sometimes did not show because of his busy schedule.

Chapter 4 – A Truly Beautiful Mind:

This story is about Albert Einstein, his life and struggles, all the great works done by him from the starting till the end day.

Chapter 5 – The Snake and the Mirror:

This is a humorous story, originally written in Malayalam but translated in English is a story about a doctor, a snake, and a mirror.

Chapter 6 – My Childhood:

This is a story taken from the autobiography of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, “Wings of Fire”. This is the story that narrates the childhood incident of Abdul Kalam.

Chapter 7 – Packing:

This is an interesting story with the background of three friends who start packing for a picnic and face many hurdles while packing.

Chapter 8 – Reach for the Top:

Women face several societal barriers while doing any work, pursuing their dreams, etc. This tale also revolves around one such woman named Santosh who destroyed these societal norms by climbing Mt. Everest twice.

Chapter 9 – The Bond of Love:

This story is about a man who saved the life of a sloth bear and loved him so much that they developed an unbreakable bond between the two.

Chapter 10 – Kathmandu:

This is a story narrated by the writer himself of his travelling experience from India to China via Nepal. He described the views and feelings.

Chapter 11 – If I Were You:

The final chapter in Beehive is a play about a meddler who breaks into a cabin, tries to murder the proprietor Gerrard to take on his identity. With this NCERT English book Class 9, you’ll be able to claw deeper to understand the play more easily.


Chapter 1 – The Road Not Taken:

This poem is written by Robert Frost, stating how he made important choices in his life, what road he took and what he left.

Chapter 2 – Wind:

The poem ‘Wind’ contains a deeper metaphorical meaning. The poem depicts the facility of wind and the way it’s destructive. The poet describes the wind as violent that breaks everything around. It breaks the shutters of the windows, scatters the papers, and throws down books from its shelves, and even tears their pages.

Chapter 3 – Rain on the Roof:

The poet expresses his love for nature and its beauty. It’s a poem that tells us about the poet’s sweet memories of his childhood. At night, when dark clouds cover the sky and it rains gently then the poet lies in his cosy bed taking note of the sound of the gentle rain droplets on the rooftop of his house.

Chapter 4 – The Lake Isle of Innisfree:

The poem is about an actual place near the coast of Ireland, the Lake Isle of Innisfree, which may be a very small, uninhabited island on the lake Lough Gill, in County Sligo. The poem describes the isle as a way longed-for place of peace and natural beauty, a quiet place where the speaker feels most grounded

Chapter 5 – A Legend of the Northland:

A Legend of the Northland is folklore told to the youngsters to instil this moral lesson. The poem talks about a few little women who were punished by Peter for refusing to offer him any of the cakes that she had baked.

Chapter 6 – No Men are Foreign:

The title- ‘No men are Foreign’ means that no men belong to a different country. The poet wants to mention that each one man is the same, all men are equal. During this poem, the poet wants to inform us that everybody in this world is the same. All people, all men are the same – they eat, live, die in an equivalent way.

Chapter 7 – The Duck and the Kangaroo:

The poem is about the conversation that takes place between a duck and a kangaroo. Within the poem, the duck and kangaroo are excellent friends. The duck is fascinated by the kangaroo’s hopping. It wishes if it could also hop just like the kangaroo and obtain out of the pond to ascertain the entire world.

Chapter 8 – Trees:

The poem “On Killing a Tree” by Gieve Patel presents the durability of a totally grown tree, strengthened by nourishment from the world, the sun and therefore the air. … A tree is just too strong to be killed by an easy attack of a knife. It’s grown slowly consuming the world, feeding on its crust, absorbing years of sunlight.

Chapter 9 – The Snake Trying:

The poem revolves around a snake that’s struggling after being hit by a stick. Furthermore, the stick is held by an individual who intends to kill this snake. Moreover, the snake is trying to flee from this predicament. The message that the poet wants to convey is that not all snakes are harmful.

Chapter 10 – A Slumber Did My Spirits Seal:

A Slumber Did My Spirit Seal Summary talks about the death of the author’s beloved Lucy. This poem reflects on the thinking and feeling of the author regarding his beloved’s death. Her death has made the soul of the author a seal. Furthermore, the author was in a state of deep sleep.