Instagram is one of the most common social media sites around  and the most addicting. If you want to down your habits using Instagram, you can delete or deactivate your Instagram account.

Instagram user can temporarily disable their account to hide their profile, comments, likes and photos until they want to reactivate it by logging back in.

They can also put request for the permanent deletion of their account, which a instagram takes 90 days to completely remove the account.

Instagram users can only disable their account from computer or mobile browser. They cann’t temporarily disable your instagram account from within the app. Instagram on it’s help pages notes that it doesn’t charge it’s users for using it’s services. However, it keeps follow of profile pictures, user’s usernames, and information about relationships or their actions next to or in connection with accounts, offers, ads and other sponsored content that they engage or follow with that are displayed on facebook products, which without any compensation to users.

If you want to stop giving your data for free, you can delete your Instagram account or if you want to take a break from the social media (which seems difficult because the addictive nature of the app), you can do so by the way temporarily deactivating your account.

Wondering how to delete instagram account or temporarily disable instagram account? You just need to follow simple steps for this. The great thing is Instagram allows you to download all your data. The company takes up to 48 hours to giving email you a download link. The app allows you download data even when you aren’t delete instagram account.

 Needless to say, if you delete everything, you will not be able to retrieve your information. Now, let’s take a look at how you can deactivating is temporary or delete your instagram account.

To temporarily deactivate your instagram accounts:

Follow some steps below to temporarily deactivate Instagram account. Do note that this’s prefer be done using a web browser as the instagram app lacks the relevant support.

Step 1:  Go to and log in to instagram.com from a mobile browser or a computer, and log in using the instagram ID you want to deactivate

Step 2: Click or tap your profile picture in the top-right corner and select Profile, then select the “Edit Profile” from the following screen, scroll down until you see the “Temporarily disable my account” option in the bottom right.

Step3: After you have tapped on the disable button, Instagram will show you a page with drop down menu next to “Why are you disabling your account?” You will need to pick an option from the menu, and then re-enter your password of instagram account. The drop down menu includes some options such as created second account, Can not find everyone to follow or concerned about your data, privacy concerns, Just need a break, too distracting/too busy, or you want to remove something. You can also pick the something else option if you do not want to specify your reason for temporary deactivation account.

Step 4: Click or tap the ‘Temporarily Disable Account’ button to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.

When you’ve followed all the steps, you have successully deactivated your instagram account. You can reactivate it by simply log back. If the Instagram account hasn’t been reactivated, your profile, comments, photos, and likes will be hidden from other users. Lastly, you’ll only be able to deactivate your Instagram account once a week.

To request forever deletion of your Instagram account:

For a more forever solution, you can delete instagram account as well as all the associated data. Again, this’s prefer done using a web browser, not the app. Follow some steps below:

Step 1: Log into Instagram.com on the desktop computer or mobile site.

Step 2: Go to the delete your account page and select the options from the drop down menu next to “Why are you deleting your account?” The options are so much the same as the ones you get when you deactivate Instagram accounts, like too many ads, concerned about my data, privacy concerns, trouble getting started,  created a second account, want to remove something and can not find people to follow.

Step 3: Input the password and click “Permanently delete my account” option from the bottom of the screen.

 If you decide to delete your instagram account, all your photos, likes, comments, and followers on the app will be removed forever. As say above, with the delete your instagram account option, you can not recover your account. If you want to save your posts and photos from the app before deleting the account, you can download copy of your information. To do so, click your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile –> settings –>access data –> wiew all.

So that is how you can temporarily deactivate or delete instagram account from the desktop computer or mobile site. We hope this some steps guide helps you get rid of the distractions the app is known for.